How to Incorporate Travel Into Your Education

October of 2012, Boot Size 10

My Dear Readers,

So as a college student I have been very run down with the fact that school and work has pretty much absorbed my life; that hasn’t been taken up by those two categories I try to devote to my boyfriend and my family. This previous summer I did essentially nothing. At most I managed to go to the parks in my area like Canobie Lake Park (I actually went to that one a lot). With this in mind I didn’t want to repeat that next summer.

Since I’m already saving up for my Disney trip January of 2014, I had to make sure this trip was within a college student’s price range. And since I’m a college student who only works weekends, that’s make it even tougher. But I was determined to make it work. With this in mind I also had to consider my schooling: maybe I could incorporate travel into what I want to do for my future.

While right now I’m just your average Biology major, but its destiny is to be switched to Sustainable Agriculture and Livestock. I have a passion for nature and animals, and my ultimate goal is to bring good eating and living to those who think that they cannot due to their living situations such as those living in apartments or in the city. You don’t need to have land and a garden to have fresh herbs and other product. That is what I hope to donate to the world with my little slice of life.

But with this in mind I’ve been pondering about how I can travel while working a career that- frankly- deals a lot with staying in one place. How will I be able to get out an experience the world and all the culture that it holds?

I’m surprised I didn’t think of it earlier honestly.

WWOOFing!!!

I have no artistic ability, so no I did not make this graphic. I actually found it on another blog! SO credit to them if they made it: http://elleswim.net/2010/10/05/324-wwoof-in-central-america/

Alright make all your dog jokes now and get it over with. Trust me I giggled the first time too.

WWOOFing stands for World Wide Organization on Organic Farms. And it’s pretty much how it sounds. It’s a world-wide farming community that helps organic farms get in contact with volunteers who have a hunger for knowledge and getting their hands dirty.

One thing I love about travel is going off the beaten path and not only being able to experience the country but being able to experience the people. It’s the people that make up the meat of the cultural pie, and I prefer interacting with the people than just getting my picture taken at monuments. That’s just boring.

With this in mind, I will be WWOOFing in the country of Ireland!

This picture was taken by my father. All credit goes to him.

That’s right, Ireland. A country well known for it’s farmland and love for self-sustenance and organic practices. WWOOFing will be able to let me not only see Ireland, but to experience Ireland. I’ll be able to get in there, get my hands dirty, learn new foods, new skills, new sayings. I’ll be living and breathing Ireland!

Look at all that green!!! Again, this picture was taken by my father. All credit goes to him

I will be leaving not long after my anniversary with Tom in June, and I will be staying on a farm for about a month. I have about eight months to save, plan, and prepare for working on a farm, and taking day-trips out when I can. As the time gets closer to my departure I’ll be posting about home-stays and prepping for long term travel. I’m also more than willing to take suggestions and answer questions about WWOOFing, farming, travel, and any other burning questions that you wish to ask. Just leave a lovely little comment and I’ll make a post about it.

So I hope you all you travel lovers will be able to take a long look at what you want to do for your career, and maybe you’ll be able to find a way to incorporate travel into it! Because nothing is better than doing what you love in a completely new and foreign place!

Until my Next Adventure,

Viviana Ayre

Categories: On Traveling | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “How to Incorporate Travel Into Your Education

  1. Viviana! What a great idea! Of course we have Woofers in Australia …. and it’s a lot warmer!!! I don’t think I mentioned to you that I lecture part time at an agricultural college- I teach legal stuff but the College is hard core Ag. It’s called Marcus Oldham.
    I’ve had some crazy health stuff going on- you can see it in a new blog http://sparklesenlightened.net it’s a bit full on! and has curtailed my travel aspirations also. I was planning to move to the UK and would have been there now had this not happened… but I suppose there is something I’m meant to learn out of it. Cheers- and keep on writing!! Sparkles

    • That’s awesome! I had no idea about your part-time!! I’m rather jealous! 😉
      Plans always shift around bit by bit as new opportunities arise. I like to go along with the flow, considering my path has changed SO many time in the past two/three years.

  2. I have a cousin doing woofing in California and a great friend doing it in Germany. Should be an awesome adventure!

  3. You will love Ireland! If you get the chance… take a trip to Galway (a nice coastal town) and a boat trip from there to the Aran Islands! It’s a wonderful trip and great experience!

    • I will definitely keep that in mind! I don’t know what my free time is going to look like so we will see as time gets closer!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

